access exclusive content

Master Trainer Portal

what is this?

Dec 9, 2021 Best Friends Approach: Introduction


Details

WHERE From your personal computer, via Zoom
WHEN December 9, 2021
COST $225 per person.

Discounted rate ($195 per person) available for companies sending 3 or more attendees. Contact us for details.

REGISTRATION DEADLINE November 23, 2021
QUESTIONS? CONTACT: bestfriends@healthpropress.com
1-888-337-8808 ext 180

REGISTER NOW

What a person with dementia needs more than anything is a friend!

Learn how you can make people with dementia feel safe, secure, and valued by following the acclaimed Best Friends™ approach to care. This relationship-centered care model is easy to understand and brings out the best in people with dementia – and also in staff. Not only will your residents or clients benefit, but you will see how activities, mealtimes, and personal care go more smoothly and your days are more enjoyable.

This virtual training program introduces the core elements of the life-affirming Best Friends™ approach in 4½ hours of interactive learning spread across one day. The training is led by a Best Friends™ Expert Leader, who is either the model’s founder or a long-time practitioner and trainer of this life-affirming approach.

In three 1.5-hour training sessions, participants will learn how to

  • Embrace friendship to ease the dementia experience
  • Use each person’s life story
  • Communicate skillfully
  • Understand and minimize behaviors that challenge us
  • Provide meaningful engagement
  • Develop the Best Friends Knack of Caregiving

The Best Friends approach is valuable to anyone working with people who live with memory loss. This includes home care settings, adult day services, assisted living, skilled nursing, acute care, and hospice. It is effective for nursing staff, activity professionals, social workers, care managers, administrators, and frontline caregivers.

Give yourself or your team the indispensable skills of a Best Friends caregiver in this lively, Zoom-based training program.

1-DAY TRAINING SCHEDULE

Session 1 | 11:00am–12:30pm EST (8:00am–9:30am PST)

  • The Building Blocks of Best Friends
  • The Experience of Dementia
  • Elements of Friendship in Dementia Care

Session 2 | 1:30pm–3:00pm EST (10:30am–12:00pm PST)

  • Maximizing the Life Story
  • Communicating Skillfully

Session 3 | 4:00pm–5:30pm EST (1:00pm–2:30pm PST)

  • Understanding Behaviors That Challenge Us
  • Meaningful Engagement
  • Implementing a Best Friends Environment